Things I’ve done so far…Week 1~ WEEK 2

I’ve made some changes this semester so far.

The classroom looks a bit nicer. We sing more songs. I spent more time to prepare lessons.

I trained myself to be more cheerful with those cranky adolescents.

All these changes are made possible for the start of our English Project. Though I have mixed feelings about the project yet I can’t deny the positive changes it brings in. i.e. less teaching hours per week, more time to design lesson plans…

For the start of the 3rd graders-

I ask kids to write down their English and Chinese names on blank name cards. I asked them to leave the bottom space blank if they have trouble to write their own English names.

CIMG3346 CIMG3347

After collecting name cards from kids, I print out Name Trace worksheet from My moondrops. Considering the workload I have currently, I think that’s a fair thing to do for each kid.

I also adopted Moji’s classroom management idea. I recycled heaps of CDs as tokens. So far it has motivated kids greatly and encourage each member of the team to help each other to earn points. In my second session with class 304 even the well-known 阿賓(I learnt his name in the first ten minutes of our first session) is sober enough to make comment!! I’d like to thank Moji for this great idea. I also apply this tally system in grade 6 and it still works:-) Well, maybe I’m still in the honey moon phase with kids. I hope it lasts!

CIMG3383 CIMG3384

I bought this pocket chart from yahoo with 80 dollars only. I use it to organize name cards of each class. It’s a great way to remember student names in a short time.

I also tried to start the semester with "Hey Jude" with my 6 graders. Lots of stories have been said about this song but I love the one of Paul MacCartney and Lennon’s son Jules best.

Excerpt from Wiki

In 1968, John Lennon and his wife Cynthia Lennon separated due to his affair with Yoko Ono. Soon afterwards, Paul McCartney drove out to visit Cynthia and Julian, her son with Lennon. "We’d been very good friends for millions of years and I thought it was a bit much for them suddenly to be personae non gratae and out of my life," McCartney said.[3] Later, Cynthia Lennon recalled, "I was truly surprised when, one afternoon, Paul arrived on his own. I was touched by his obvious concern for our welfare…. On the journey down he composed ‘Hey Jude’ in the car. I will never forget Paul’s gesture of care and concern in coming to see us."

I start the song with Stephan and David Tao’s MTV. Stephanie’s KTV version is also a great version for kids to sing along.

 

I’ll play some earlier version of Hey Jude in the future and hoping I can smuggle in some language input in the mean time!

Gosh Paul MacCartney is still as cute as ever!

Leave a Reply

