Granularity? Be more efficient in the teaching life!

從早上8:45分開始上第一堂課,有時會有連上六節的情況,若來個英語比賽或是作業抽查,常常連50分鐘的午休也賠進去.上完最後一堂已是約3點,接著開始改簿本…由於簿本太多,我人又愛大位,所以常常坐在學生的椅子上改,學生是分組併桌的,這樣簿本也才空間放.就這麼常改的背痛,有時改的好想睡….我一向討厭改作業,雖然偶有佳作會讓你醒過來,但情形少之又少…

如果以上的情況你讀來也心有同感,看看下面這個情況吧…

英語課堂堂都有進度壓力,但又不想只教書裏頭的東西.有時自創教材放進去,卻驚覺太容易因此拖進度,畢竟學校也會有運動會等等節目,往往會拖到科任課的上課進度.前年我和6年級共7班一起用five little pumpkin做大書.雖然結果令人感動,但實在也怕極了這種大型project.10月底的萬聖節我是從8月中開始計劃,9月初開始每節偷進一點點才勉強趕上10月底完成大書….我很認同多元智慧的概念,但是要英語科任執行起來,真的有難度.

轉行當老師後發現,教學專業和效率一樣重要.畢竟要管理12個班級的英語學習沒有適當的工作流程和規劃真的會把自己累死.前幾天看到這篇關於寫作效率的文章,其實同樣的道理也可以應用在教學和相關的教室管理上.給大家參考看看.

A student might also apply the strategy of granularity to the work of writing itself. Instead of writing a draft and “looking it over,” it’s much smarter to break down the work of writing and editing by thinking about one thing at a time. Developing a strong thesis statement: that’s one task. Working out a sequence of paragraphs to develop that thesis: another task. Figuring out how to make a transition from one paragraph to another: another task. If you tend to have patterns of errors in your writing, look for each kind of error, one at a time. Noun-pronoun agreement? Read a draft once through looking only for that. Comma splices? Read once through with your eyes on the commas. It might seem that approaching the work of writing and editing in terms of smaller, separate tasks is unnecessarily cumbersome, but breaking things down will likely make it far easier to work more effectively and come out with a stronger piece of writing. No writer can think about everything at once.

Granularity is also a useful strategy for making even a daunting reading project do-able. If you have eighty pages to read, finish twenty and take a short break; then repeat. If you’re reading James Joyce or Marcel Proust, a handful of pages might be all that you can manage at one sitting, and sometimes you might need to chart your progress by the sentence. But those sentences and pages add up, and I should know. I just finished all seven volumes (3,102 pages) of Proust’s In Search of Lost Time (À la recherche du temps perdu), averaging twenty pages a day over five months and two days of reading.

記得在new media課上老師提到網頁環境設計的其中一個基本原則就是KISS= KEEP IT SIMPLE AND STUPID.對大人如此,對"小人"也是嘍..

Technorati tags: ,

2 comments

  1. 唉…我是Jamie, 又來給你留言囉…當個英語科任可不輕鬆阿…我今天改簿子改到6點多才回家(三點半放學後才改了兩班的習作 +登記分數)本來教英文規劃那些遊戲, 活動什麼的就很勞神了, 真正實施時又要卯足勁帶動全班的學習意願, 如果又遇到學生不認真又秩序差那才是身心具疲ㄚ…最近有一位六年級男生態度極差(有暴力傾向家長又不管的), 上課對我沒大沒小, 導師又因為快退休了睜一隻眼閉一隻眼, 實在讓我很挫折, 偏偏又教他們班英語+美勞共4節, 每當要上他們課之前我都快胃痛了…有時我真想辭職(我兩年多前才剛考上教師)…但想想自己大概也只能在補習班教英語吧…還有明天是英語說故事比賽的初賽了…說了這ㄇ多, 也不過宣洩苦水罷了..   對了, 我最近在yahoo有自己的blog 有空可以來看看ㄡhttp://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/jamie-corner                                苦命的Jamie留

  2. hello jemaie,
     
    真高興又聽聞你的消息.我知道英文老師的處境,也是因為這樣才想離開那樣的環境一會兒.碰到那樣的學生,有時真的很沒奈何呢!聽你這麼講我也想到教書第一年也是被一班學生整的每逄週末開始失眠,因為他們班是星期一的第一堂!! 也只能換個角度告訴自己這是種"修養"的課程,試著換換其他的方式和學生溝通.(當然我知道有些學生真是很難對話).總之,加油! 我還記得剛教書時身體變的比較不好了,希望你要保持健康哦! 我也要去你的窩瞧瞧!!:-)

Leave a Reply

